2019 Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Winners Announced

2019 Franklin B. Walter Scholarship winners

The Franklin B. Walter Scholarship winners were announced Tuesday, April 9, 2019, in a special ceremony at the Marriott by the University of Dayton beginning at 11:30 am. 

Each school district in Montgomery County selects a senior recipient based on criteria such as awards, activities, an essay, attendance, GPA, ACT/SAT scores and staff recommendations.  Each nominee, one per high school, receives a $1,000 scholarship from the Montgomery County Educational Service Center.

The 2019 Franklin B. Walter Scholarship winners and their Teacher of Influence are:


Hannah May - Brookville  (Ms. Hutsell)

Kyle Moyer - Centerville (Mr. Leiker)

Danielle Hammond - Belmont (Master Sergeant Oliver)

Ty'Lynne Bradley - Dunbar (Mr. Lacking)

Rodney Rappley - Meadowdale (Mr. Bornhorst)

V'Shonne Allen - Ponitz (Mr. Kuehner)

Miannah Lawrence - Stivers (Ms. Whipps)

Daisha Williams - Thurgood Marshall (Ms. Gunder)

Lyllia Collier - Huber Heights (Mr. Shanayda)

D'Arriona Calahan - Jefferson (Ms. Lewis)

Jonas Smith - Kettering (Ms. Britton)

Kayla Godsey - Mad River (Mr. Lehner)

Emma Harold - Miamisburg (Ms. Algren)

Lily Pedrotti - New Lebanon (Ms. Earich)

Breckyn O'Shea - Northmont (Ms. Fellers)

Cyndey Moorman - Northridge (Ms. Berry)

Tommy Lunne - Oakwood (Mr. Rado)

Tia'Shane Washington - Trotwood-Madison (Mrs. Miracle)

Justin DeVilbiss - Valley View (Mr. Heistand)

Abigail Schoenherr - Vandalia Butler (Ms. Penrod)

Noah Martin - West Carrollton (Ms. Babb)


The Franklin B. Walter Scholarship Awards Program was established by the Ohio Superintendent’s Educational Service Center Association to promote student achievement and recognize outstanding students.

The scholarship award is named in honor of Franklin B. Walter who served as State Superintendent of Education for Ohio from March 1977 until August 1991.

Back to School News      Print News Article